Introducing Menachem Mendel Davis

Written by Batya H. Carl on . Posted in Young Professionals Spotlight

Interested in connecting with this week’s young professional? Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .

Menachem Mendel Davis is 23 years old and was born and raised in Baltimore. He attended the Talmudical Academy of Baltimore from kindergarten through 12th grade, and then studied at Ohr Somayach in Jerusalem for two years. He graduated cum laude in Business Administration from the University of Baltimore’s Merrick School of Business.

Mendel was his school’s mascot for seven months and worked as a counselor at the award-winning Camp HASC (Hebrew Academy of Special Children) for two summers.

Mendel currently works in wealth management for Merrill Lynch as a financial advisor and resides in Owings Mills, Maryland.

You like to travel. Where have you been and where are you going next?

Israel, Canada, England, France, Spain, Germany, Russia, and many states — my favorite place in the U.S. is New Orleans. I will be going to Israel and Belgium in two weeks and I am going to Amsterdam and Texas in the summer for my birthday. Next year will be Australia and Brazil.

What are you passionate about?

This is easy — sports and cooking, for sure. I can do those all day, every day for the rest of my life. Additionally, I like to push myself out of my comfort zone. That’s usually where the good things happen.

What is something people might not know about you?

I published two books when I was in Israel. It is by far the greatest accomplishment of my life. Moreover, I am one hell of a chef. Additionally, I am a huge “momma’s boy.”

How would others describe you?

Probably extremely outgoing, social, meticulous, and well thought out. A guy that tries to set the mood in whatever environment he is in. I am the one guy at the party that tries to make friends with everyone. Clearly, I don’t mind talking to strangers.

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?

Either New Orleans or Philadelphia, by far. However, I still love where I am at in Baltimore.

Tell Kol HaBirah readers about “Spike.”

Spike is my baby. He is a six-year-old Chihuahua-terrier that I rescued from an owner who abused him. I told my mother at the time that I wanted a dog. I found him on craigslist that night, and he was mine the next day.

What is your dream job?

Either a YouTube chef with a million plus subscribers or a SportsCenter news anchor. I would do either for free.

What has been your last favorite purchase?

Definitely my Kawasaki Ninja 650R motorcycle.

What do you like to do when you are not busy working?

Sleeping in. I also enjoy cooking, specifically on the grill, going to sporting events, and taking a ride on my bike in nice weather.

If you could relive any memory, what would it be?

My graduation. Specifically, when my mom saw me after walking down and she gave me the most “I am so proud of you” motherly hug. That was the best moment of my life.

 Interviewed by Batya H. Carl